Blue Buffalo Wilderness Adult Salmon with Wholesome Grains Dry Dog Food


Product reviewed: Blue Buffalo Wilderness Adult Salmon with Wholesome Grains Dry Dog Food

Reviewed package: 24-lb bag

Market reviewed: United States

Last fact-checked: September 24, 2026

Affiliate Disclosure: Dog Food Scout participates in the Amazon Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. If you purchase through an eligible Amazon affiliate link on this page, Dog Food Scout may earn a commission at no additional cost to you. Affiliate relationships do not determine our product scores or editorial conclusions.
Veterinary Notice: This article provides general educational information and does not replace individualized veterinary advice. Dogs with diagnosed medical conditions, chronic digestive problems, suspected food allergies, obesity, pancreatitis, kidney disease, heart disease or another condition requiring specialized nutrition should have their diet discussed with a veterinarian.
85/100 Dog Food Scout Score Evidence Confidence: High

Quick Verdict

Blue Buffalo Wilderness Salmon with Wholesome Grains is a high-protein, grain-inclusive dry food formulated for adult dogs.

The current U.S. formula provides at least 34% crude protein, 15% crude fat and approximately 420 kcal per cup.

Its first three ingredients are deboned salmon, salmon meal and chicken meal, followed by oatmeal, barley and brown rice.

The formula guarantees omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids, calcium, phosphorus and glucosamine. Taurine and L-carnitine are also present in the ingredient list, although they are not separately guaranteed in the current product analysis.

Unlike Blue Buffalo's grain-free Wilderness Salmon recipe, this version uses traditional grains and does not place peas, lentils or chickpeas among its principal current ingredients.

Blue Buffalo also reports substantial formulation and manufacturing infrastructure, including on-staff veterinarians, PhD-level animal nutritionists and a detailed multi-stage quality-control system.

The principal limitation is that this exact formula's nutritional adequacy is formulated to meet AAFCO adult-maintenance nutrient profiles rather than being substantiated by an AAFCO animal feeding-test statement.

The food is also more calorie-dense than the Large Breed Salmon & Wholesome Grains formula, so portion control deserves attention in less-active dogs.

Overall, this is one of the stronger current Wilderness recipes on paper: high in animal-source protein, grain-inclusive, well documented nutritionally and backed by substantial manufacturer expertise.

Interested in Blue Buffalo Wilderness Salmon & Wholesome Grains?

Check the current 24-lb product listing and availability on Amazon.

Check Current Price on Amazon (paid link)

Amazon prices and availability can change. Dog Food Scout does not manually display Amazon pricing in this review.

Blue Buffalo Wilderness Salmon & Wholesome Grains at a Glance

Brand Blue Buffalo
Product line Wilderness
Recipe Adult Salmon with Wholesome Grains
Food type Dry kibble
Life stage Adult maintenance
Available official sizes 4.5 lb, 13 lb, 24 lb and 28 lb
Adequacy method Formulated to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles
Crude protein 34.0% minimum
Crude fat 15.0% minimum
Crude fiber 6.0% maximum
Moisture 10.0% maximum
Calories 3,632 kcal/kg or approximately 420 kcal/cup
Calcium 1.4% minimum
Phosphorus 0.9% minimum
Omega-3 fatty acids 0.75% minimum
Omega-6 fatty acids 2.5% minimum
Glucosamine 400 mg/kg minimum
First ingredient Deboned salmon
Grain-free No
Personally tested by Dog Food Scout No
Evidence confidence High

Regular Adult vs. Large Breed: Do Not Confuse These Formulas

This review is for the regular Adult formula.

Blue Buffalo also sells a separate Wilderness Large Breed Adult Salmon with Wholesome Grains recipe.

The two products are similar, but their nutritional profiles are not identical.

Feature Regular Adult Large Breed Adult
Protein 34% minimum 32% minimum
Fat 15% minimum 14% minimum
Calories 420 kcal/cup 388 kcal/cup
Glucosamine 400 mg/kg minimum 700 mg/kg minimum
Chondroitin guarantee Not listed in current guaranteed analysis 550 mg/kg minimum

If you specifically have a large-breed adult dog, do not assume these two bags are nutritionally interchangeable simply because both carry the Wilderness Salmon & Wholesome Grains name.

Nutritional Adequacy

Official product statement Blue Buffalo states that Wilderness Nature's Evolutionary Diet with Salmon and LifeSource Bits for Adult Dogs is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.

This means the product is intended to provide complete and balanced nutrition for healthy adult dogs when appropriately fed.

Formulated to meet vs. feeding tested

Dog Food Scout distinguishes between two methods of supporting nutritional adequacy.

This exact product uses the “formulated to meet AAFCO nutrient profiles” route.

The current label does not state that its complete-and-balanced status was substantiated through an AAFCO animal feeding test.

Blue Buffalo does say it conducts feeding, palatability and nutritional testing during product development under veterinary oversight, but that is not the same thing as an AAFCO feeding-test adequacy statement for this exact formula.

Guaranteed Analysis

Nutrient Guaranteed amount
Crude protein 34.0% minimum
Crude fat 15.0% minimum
Crude fiber 6.0% maximum
Moisture 10.0% maximum
Calcium 1.4% minimum
Phosphorus 0.9% minimum
Omega-3 fatty acids 0.75% minimum
Omega-6 fatty acids 2.5% minimum
Glucosamine 400 mg/kg minimum

These are label guarantees rather than exact average laboratory concentrations.

For example, 34% crude protein means the food must contain at least that amount. It does not mean every batch contains exactly 34%.

Dry-Matter Analysis

The formula has a maximum moisture guarantee of 10%.

Dry matter = 100 − 10 = 90%

Protein

34 ÷ 90 × 100 = approximately 37.8% minimum protein on a dry-matter basis

Fat

15 ÷ 90 × 100 = approximately 16.7% minimum fat on a dry-matter basis

Crude fiber

6 ÷ 90 × 100 = approximately 6.7% maximum crude fiber on a dry-matter basis

These are Dog Food Scout calculations derived from guaranteed values, not independent laboratory measurements.

Calorie Content

Blue Buffalo currently reports:

3,632 kcal/kg

and approximately

420 kcal per cup.

This is a fairly energy-dense dry food.

That may suit active adult dogs, but portion control becomes particularly important for dogs that are sedentary, neutered or prone to gaining excess weight.

A food being high in protein does not protect a dog from gaining weight if total calorie intake exceeds energy expenditure.

Ingredient Analysis

The current U.S. ingredient list begins:

Deboned salmon, salmon meal, chicken meal, oatmeal, barley, brown rice, dried tomato pomace, fish meal, chicken fat and natural flavor.

The formula also contains dried yeast, flaxseed, alfalfa, chicory root, sweet potatoes, carrots, blueberries, cranberries, taurine, L-carnitine, vitamins, minerals and fermentation products.

Deboned salmon

Deboned salmon is the first listed ingredient.

It supplies animal protein and naturally occurring marine fatty acids.

Fresh salmon also contains considerable water, so its first-place position should not by itself be interpreted as proof that salmon provides the majority of all protein in the finished kibble.

Salmon meal

Salmon meal is the second ingredient.

Because much of its original moisture has already been removed, salmon meal is a concentrated source of fish protein.

Having salmon and salmon meal as the first two ingredients is a meaningful feature of this recipe.

Chicken meal

Chicken meal is the third ingredient and adds another concentrated animal-protein source.

This also means the food is not chicken-free.

Is Blue Buffalo Wilderness Salmon & Grains Chicken-Free?

No.

Despite salmon being the named protein, the current food contains:

  • chicken meal; and
  • chicken fat.

Therefore, this formula should not automatically be selected for a dog that must avoid chicken.

Owners conducting a veterinary elimination diet should follow the exact diet recommended by their veterinarian rather than relying on front-of-package protein names.

Oatmeal

Oatmeal is the fourth ingredient.

It supplies carbohydrate, fiber and B vitamins.

Barley

Barley is another whole grain used as an energy and fiber source.

Brown rice

Brown rice provides complex carbohydrate, fiber and several micronutrients.

Dog Food Scout does not automatically penalize an appropriately formulated food for containing grains.

Is This the Grain-Free Wilderness Salmon Recipe?

No.

Blue Buffalo also sells a separate Wilderness Grain-Free Salmon Recipe.

The formula reviewed here specifically uses oatmeal, barley and brown rice.

That distinction matters when comparing ingredient lists, calorie information or older reviews online.

Do not mix nutrition information from the grain-free version with this Wholesome Grains recipe.

Current Formula and Pulses

The current official ingredient panel for this Wholesome Grains formula does not list peas, lentils or chickpeas among its principal ingredients.

Its main carbohydrate sources are instead oatmeal, barley and brown rice.

That makes this recipe meaningfully different from many older grain-free formulas that relied heavily on pulses or pulse-derived ingredients.

Fish Meal

Fish meal provides additional concentrated animal protein and marine-derived nutrients.

The precise fish species is not identified in the ingredient name, so Dog Food Scout does not assume a species that the manufacturer has not specified.

Chicken Fat

Chicken fat provides concentrated dietary energy and essential fatty acids.

Blue Buffalo preserves it with mixed tocopherols rather than BHA.

Flaxseed

Flaxseed contributes fiber and alpha-linolenic acid, a plant-derived omega-3 fatty acid.

Omega-3 and Omega-6 Fatty Acids

Blue Buffalo guarantees:

Omega-3 fatty acids: 0.75% minimum
Omega-6 fatty acids: 2.5% minimum

The presence of salmon, salmon meal, fish meal and flaxseed gives the formula several potential fatty-acid sources.

Fatty acids contribute to normal skin, coat and numerous physiological functions.

Dog Food Scout does not interpret these guarantees as evidence that the food treats dermatologic disease.

Glucosamine

The food guarantees:

Glucosamine: 400 mg/kg minimum

Glucosamine is commonly included in foods and supplements marketed around joint health.

However, the quantity supplied through normal food portions should not automatically be considered therapeutically equivalent to a veterinarian-selected joint supplement.

Taurine and L-Carnitine

Both taurine and L-carnitine appear in the current ingredient list.

Unlike some other Blue Buffalo formulas, the current guaranteed-analysis panel for this regular Adult recipe does not separately guarantee their concentrations.

Dog Food Scout therefore records them as present ingredients, not as quantitatively guaranteed nutrients.

LifeSource Bits

Blue Buffalo includes its proprietary LifeSource Bits throughout its dry maintenance foods.

The company describes these as a mixture of vitamins, minerals and antioxidants selected by veterinarians and animal nutritionists.

Blue Buffalo says the bits are cold-formed to reduce exposure of certain heat-sensitive nutrients.

Dog Food Scout treats those processing statements as manufacturer information.

Claims about broader immune-health outcomes should not be interpreted as proof that the food prevents disease.

No Corn, Wheat or Soy

Blue Buffalo states that this formula contains:

  • no corn;
  • no wheat;
  • no soy;
  • no chicken or poultry by-product meals;
  • no artificial flavors; and
  • no artificial preservatives.

These characteristics may appeal to shoppers with specific ingredient preferences.

Dog Food Scout does not automatically regard a food as better simply because corn, wheat, soy or by-product meals are absent.

The finished food's nutritional adequacy, manufacturer expertise and quality controls are more meaningful evaluation criteria.

Manufacturer Nutrition Expertise

Blue Buffalo states that it develops its recipes using on-staff veterinarians and PhD-level animal nutritionists.

The company also says its development testing with dogs and cats is conducted under safe conditions and monitored and managed by veterinarians.

That provides meaningful evidence of internal nutrition expertise.

Blue Buffalo does not disclose the individual formulator of this exact recipe on the consumer product page, so Dog Food Scout stops short of awarding maximum transparency credit.

Manufacturing and Quality Control

Blue Buffalo reports operating two manufacturing facilities:

  • Joplin, Missouri; and
  • Richmond, Indiana.

The company also works with additional manufacturing partners in the United States that manufacture according to Blue Buffalo recipes and specifications.

Therefore, Dog Food Scout does not claim that every bag of this recipe is necessarily produced in a Blue Buffalo-owned plant unless the package itself verifies that.

Quality-control program

Blue Buffalo describes a multi-stage quality program including:

  1. supplier and source checks;
  2. incoming ingredient inspection and testing;
  3. batch and formula monitoring;
  4. in-process analysis;
  5. equipment-cleanliness verification;
  6. packaging and foreign-material checks; and
  7. finished-product evaluation and laboratory testing.

These controls are manufacturer-reported, but they represent a relatively strong level of public quality-assurance information.

Recall and Safety History

Blue Buffalo currently reports no active pet-food or treat recalls in 2026.

Dog Food Scout did not identify an active FDA recall for this exact Wilderness Adult Salmon with Wholesome Grains recipe during our September 2026 review.

However, Blue Buffalo has historical recall events that should remain part of a transparent manufacturer-level assessment.

2017 BLUE Wilderness wet-food recall

In March 2017, Blue Buffalo recalled one production lot of BLUE Wilderness Rocky Mountain Recipe Red Meat Dinner wet dog food.

The concern involved potentially elevated levels of naturally occurring beef thyroid hormones.

FDA later marked the recall completed and terminated.

FDA's announcement specifically stated that no other Blue Buffalo products were affected by that event.

2016 Life Protection mold-related recall

Blue Buffalo recalled a limited production batch of Life Protection Formula Fish & Sweet Potato dry dog food in 2016 because excessive moisture created the potential for mold growth.

This was a different product line and formula.

2010 vitamin D recall

In 2010, Blue Buffalo recalled specific production runs of Wilderness Chicken, Basics Salmon and Large Breed Adult Chicken dry foods because of potentially excessive vitamin D.

The current Wilderness Salmon with Wholesome Grains recipe is not the same formula as those recalled products.

Recall history should be interpreted accurately.

A recall involving another formula does not prove that today's Salmon with Wholesome Grains food is unsafe.

However, significant historical manufacturer safety events remain relevant when assessing a company's broader safety record.

Recall information last checked: September 24, 2026.

Feeding Guide

Blue Buffalo currently gives approximately the following starting amounts:

Dog weight Suggested daily amount
Up to 15 lb 1/4 to 1 cup
16–25 lb 1 to 1 1/2 cups
26–40 lb 1 1/2 to 2 1/4 cups
41–60 lb 2 1/4 to 3 cups
61–80 lb 3 to 3 3/4 cups
81–100 lb 3 3/4 to 4 1/2 cups
Over 100 lb 4 1/2 cups plus approximately 1/2 cup for each additional 20 lb

These amounts are starting points, not precise calorie prescriptions.

Individual requirements vary according to age, activity, body condition, neuter status, environment and metabolism.

Meal Frequency

Blue Buffalo currently suggests:

  • small breeds: approximately one meal per day;
  • medium and large breeds: approximately two meals per day.

Many veterinarians and owners may prefer dividing a dog's daily calories into more than one meal for practical reasons, so feeding frequency can be individualized.

Transitioning to Blue Buffalo Wilderness

Blue Buffalo recommends approximately a 14-day transition.

  • Days 1–4: 25% new food;
  • Days 5–8: 50% new food;
  • Days 9–11: 75% new food;
  • Days 12–14: 100% new food.

Dogs with sensitive digestive systems may require a slower transition.

Dog Food Scout Has Not Personally Tested This Formula

Dog Food Scout has not purchased, opened, measured or fed this exact recipe.

We therefore do not make first-hand claims about:

  • kibble size;
  • smell;
  • texture;
  • bag durability;
  • palatability;
  • digestive tolerance;
  • stool changes;
  • coat changes; or
  • long-term feeding results.

This article is an evidence-based desk review.

Price and Value

Blue Buffalo currently offers this formula in 4.5-, 13-, 24- and 28-lb bags.

Larger packages generally make more sense for medium or large dogs consuming the diet regularly, while smaller bags may be useful when first trying a food.

At approximately 420 kcal per cup, the recipe is more calorie-dense than Blue Buffalo's separate Large Breed Salmon with Wholesome Grains food.

When comparing value between foods, Dog Food Scout recommends considering:

  • price per pound;
  • calories per kilogram;
  • daily feeding requirement;
  • cost per 1,000 calories; and
  • how well the individual dog maintains appropriate body condition.

Dog Food Scout does not manually publish Amazon prices because they can change frequently.

Check the current Amazon listing

Confirm that the listing is for Blue Buffalo Wilderness Salmon & Wholesome Grains Adult Dry Dog Food, 24 lb.

View Blue Buffalo Wilderness Salmon on Amazon (paid link)

Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Complete and balanced for adult maintenance.
  • High 34% minimum crude protein.
  • Approximately 37.8% minimum protein on a dry-matter basis.
  • Deboned salmon and salmon meal are the first two ingredients.
  • Chicken meal provides an additional concentrated animal-protein source.
  • Grain-inclusive with oatmeal, barley and brown rice.
  • No peas, lentils or chickpeas high in the current ingredient list.
  • Guaranteed omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids.
  • Guaranteed glucosamine.
  • Taurine and L-carnitine included in the ingredient list.
  • Uses mixed tocopherols rather than BHA to preserve chicken fat.
  • Recipes developed with on-staff veterinarians and PhD-level animal nutritionists.
  • Detailed manufacturer quality-control program.
  • No active Blue Buffalo recall reported in 2026.

Cons

  • This exact recipe uses formulation-based rather than AAFCO feeding-test nutritional adequacy.
  • 420 kcal per cup is relatively calorie-dense.
  • Not chicken-free despite salmon branding.
  • Contains chicken meal and chicken fat.
  • Taurine and L-carnitine amounts are not separately guaranteed on the current analysis.
  • Contains less guaranteed glucosamine than the separate Large Breed version.
  • No chondroitin guarantee is listed for the regular Adult formula.
  • Blue Buffalo has historical recalls involving other products.
  • Not every Blue Buffalo product is necessarily produced in a company-owned facility.
  • Dog Food Scout has not performed first-hand or laboratory testing.

Who Might Consider This Food?

This formula may be worth considering for:

  • healthy adult dogs;
  • active dogs that do well with relatively calorie-dense food;
  • dogs that tolerate both salmon and chicken;
  • owners looking for a high-protein grain-inclusive diet;
  • owners who want salmon and salmon meal prominently represented;
  • owners who prefer oats, barley and brown rice over a grain-free formula;
  • dogs that do not require a veterinary therapeutic diet.

Who Should Speak With a Veterinarian First?

Veterinary guidance is especially important for dogs with:

  • obesity or difficulty maintaining body condition;
  • pancreatitis;
  • kidney disease;
  • heart disease;
  • diabetes;
  • suspected chicken or fish allergy;
  • chronic gastrointestinal disease;
  • another condition requiring therapeutic nutrition.

Dog Food Scout Rating

Category Maximum Score
Nutritional adequacy & life-stage clarity 20 18/20
Manufacturer expertise & quality control 20 18/20
Nutritional & label transparency 15 14/15
Evidence supporting important claims 10 8/10
Safety history & transparency 10 8/10
Formula evaluation 10 10/10
Practical usability / first-hand testing 5 2/5
Price & value 10 7/10
Total 85/100

Evidence Confidence: High

Evidence confidence is high because Blue Buffalo provides product-specific ingredients, guaranteed analysis, calorie information, feeding recommendations and an explicit AAFCO adequacy statement.

The company's current manufacturing, nutrition-team and quality-control information is also relatively detailed.

Evidence confidence is not rated at the maximum level because Dog Food Scout has not independently tested the food, and this exact recipe does not carry an AAFCO feeding-test adequacy statement.

Dog Food Scout Final Assessment

Blue Buffalo Wilderness Salmon with Wholesome Grains Adult Dry Dog Food is a strong high-protein grain-inclusive recipe on paper.

Its biggest nutritional strength is the combination of deboned salmon and salmon meal as its first two ingredients, followed by chicken meal as another concentrated animal-protein source.

The formula also avoids the pulse-heavy structure seen in many grain-free recipes, instead relying largely on oatmeal, barley and brown rice for carbohydrate.

Its guaranteed 34% protein is substantial, while the 15% minimum fat and approximately 420 kcal per cup make it more calorie-dense than Blue Buffalo's Large Breed Salmon formula.

That can be useful for active dogs, but it also means portions should be measured carefully for dogs with modest energy requirements.

The recipe's most important limitations are its formulation-based rather than feeding-test AAFCO substantiation, Blue Buffalo's broader historical recall record, and the fact that salmon branding does not mean chicken-free.

The current formula contains both chicken meal and chicken fat.

Manufacturer expertise remains a meaningful strength. Blue Buffalo publicly reports on-staff veterinarians, PhD-level animal nutritionists, product-development testing and detailed quality controls.

85/100 Dog Food Scout Score Evidence Confidence: High

Bottom line: Blue Buffalo Wilderness Salmon & Wholesome Grains is a high-protein, salmon-forward, grain-inclusive adult food with strong manufacturer backing and good nutritional transparency. For healthy adult dogs that tolerate both salmon and chicken, it is one of the stronger current Wilderness formulas Dog Food Scout has reviewed.

Check the exact formula before purchasing

Confirm that the listing is for the Adult Salmon with Wholesome Grains 24-lb formula, not the Grain-Free, Senior or Large Breed version.

Check Blue Buffalo Wilderness Salmon on Amazon (paid link)

How Dog Food Scout Reviewed This Food

Dog Food Scout uses an evidence-first methodology rather than rating dog foods primarily by marketing terminology or attractive ingredient names.

For this review, we prioritized:

  • Blue Buffalo's current official U.S. product page;
  • the exact current Adult Salmon with Wholesome Grains ingredient list;
  • guaranteed analysis and calorie information;
  • AAFCO nutritional adequacy information;
  • Blue Buffalo nutrition-team information;
  • manufacturing and quality-control documentation;
  • current recall status;
  • historical recall records.

We distinguish verified product facts, manufacturer claims, Dog Food Scout calculations and historical safety information.

We also disclose when we have not personally tested a product.

Research Sources

Blue Buffalo — Wilderness Adult Salmon with Wholesome Grains
Official Blue Buffalo product page

Blue Buffalo — Frequently Asked Questions
Nutrition expertise, product testing and manufacturing information

Blue Buffalo — Current Recall Information
Current Blue Buffalo recall status

U.S. Food & Drug Administration — BLUE Wilderness 2017 Recall
Historical FDA recall record

ASPCA — 2010 Blue Buffalo Recall
Historical vitamin D recall context


Editorial disclosure: Dog Food Scout may receive commissions from purchases made through eligible affiliate links. Affiliate compensation does not change our review methodology, product score or evidence-confidence assessment.

Amazon Associates disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Medical disclaimer: Information published by Dog Food Scout is for general educational purposes and does not replace individualized veterinary advice.

Last fact-checked: September 24, 2026. Pet-food formulas, ingredients, nutrient values, package sizes and retailer listings can change. Always compare the current package with the information discussed in this review.